Members of The Curragh Golf Club play the wonderful game of golf over the Oldest Golf Course in Ireland, dating from 1852, when a course was laid out “on the links near Donnelly’s Hollow” by David Ritchie, from Edinburgh. The club’s historian Col. Wm. Gibson (retd) discovered this in 1981 and he has recently found that a Golf Club was established at the Curragh Camp by the Royal Lanark Militia in 1858; some 21 years prior to the institution of the currently recognised oldest club in Ireland, Royal Belfast (1881).
Since those early years, Golf has been played over this area of the Curragh Plain by many of the Scottish and English Regiments and, after 1922, by the newly formed Irish Defence Forces and local civilian population.
While the layout of the course may have changed over the years since 1852, the unique surface that is the Curragh has given pleasure and, at times, torment to all who love the game of golf. Affiliated to the Golfing Union of Ireland in 1898, the club’s course has evolved over the intervening years into its current challenging format, due to the dedicated efforts of generations of its members.
Adjacent to the golf course is a major military establishment and the willing assistance given by members of the Irish Defence Forces over the years since 1922 has created an important bond which has resulted in the unique situation where Captaincy of the club alternates bi-annually between civilian and military members.
The Curragh, a plain of over 4,700 acres, is vested in the Minister for Defence and is an amenity open to be enjoyed by all. It is also the home of the Irish Horse Racing Industry and location of the Curragh Racecourse, where the Irish Derby is held annually. On 24th September 1910 the title 'Royal' was conferred on the Curragh Golf Club, the title which has recently been reinstated.